## Honors and Awards

Joseph Cuschieri, M.D., Associate Professor, was elected Councilor of the Association for Academic Surgery by his peers for a two-year period beginning in February 2009.

Adam Goldin, M.D., Assistant
Professor, was selected as Seattle
Children's ARTist of the Month
exemplifing the hospital's community
standards of Accountability, Respect
and Teamwork. He was nominated for
ARTist of the Month by a parent who
wrote, "We were blessed to have him
repair our daughter's birth defect—he
saved her life. His manner and knowledge got us through the toughest time
in our lives." This is the first time a physician has been named the recipient.

John Keech, M.D., Research Fellow, received the Western Thoracic Surgical Association Samson Resident Prize Essay Award for his paper titled "Differential Toll Receptor Activation in Lung Reperfusion Injury". (Mentor: Michael Mulligan, M.D.)

Matthew B. Klein, M.D., Associate Director, University of Washington Burn Center, Associate Program Director & Associate Professor, Division of Plastic Surgery, received a grant from The International Association of Firefighters for his work titled "Long-Term Cost Outcomes of Pediatric Burn Patients."

Carlos A. Pellegrini, M.D., The Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chairman, was knighted in the French Legion of Honor in recognition of outstanding accomplishments and service. This world-renowned Order was established by Napoléon Bonaparte in 1802 and is the highest decoration in France. In addition, Dr. Pellegrini received the

Barry Goldwater Service Award for exemplary service by a surgeon in the Reserve Medical Corps who has made specific and valuable contributions to the Department of Surgery at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Washington, D.C.

Tam Pham, M.D., Assistant
Professor, is the new recipient of the
American Association for the Surgery
of Trauma Research & Education
Scholarship. His project, "Beta
Antagonistic Influences on Innate
Immune Response in Injured Older
Adults" will be mentored by Dr. Grant
O'Keefe. The \$40,000 scholarship is
funded for a one-year period.

Mika Sinanan, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, was appointed President of the University of Washington Physicians.

Nicholas Vedder, M.D., Professor & Chief of the Division of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery was elected Vice Chair of the American Board of Plastic Surgery and will ascend to Chair of the American Board of Plastic Surgery in 2010.

Brenda Zierler, Ph.D., R.N., R.V.T., Adjunct Associate Professor, was awarded a \$1.5 million from the Department of Health and Human Services for her project titled, "Faculty Development: Integrated Technology into Nursing Education & Practice Initiative." The purpose of her study is to create a regional (five-state) multi-institutional nursing collaborative to develop faculty expertise in using simulation, clinical informatics, telehealth and distance learning technologies.

The following individuals were honored at the Chief Residents' graduation dinner:

Greta Riedesel, M.D. received the *Henry Harkins Award* which recognizes the medical student who has completed outstanding clinical work on the surgical services and who has demonstrated a strong interest in pursuing training in a surgical discipline.

Patrick Phelan, M.D. received the *Top Intern Award*. This distinction recognizes extraordinary performance by an intern.

Kimberly Riehle, M.D. received the David Tapper Resident Teaching & Leadership Award. Established in memory of Dr. Tapper, CHMC Surgeon-in-Chief and department professor & vice-chairman, this award is presented to the chief resident who best exemplifies the teaching and leadership qualities that others seek to emulate.

Lorrie Langdale, M.D. received the Faculty Teaching Award. Established in memory of Dr. John K. Stevenson, a long time faculty member and acting department chairman, this award acknowledges teaching excellence and dedication to resident education.