2012 Seattle Surgical Society Annual Meeting

The Seattle Surgical Society held its annual meeting on January 13, 2012. The theme was "The Surgeon of the Future" with keynote speaker, Dr. Tom Russell, former Executive Director of the American College of Surgeons. The meeting opened with an outstanding group of 3-minute research presentations by trainees from the three Seattle surgical residency programs, moderated by Dr. Russell and Dr. Kaj Johansen. At various points throughout the meeting, an audience response system facilitated via cellular texting enabled attendees to contribute their opinions in real time, including voting for their favorite resident presentation.

Dr. Richard Thirlby (VMMC), past President of the Seattle Surgical Society, presented a review of the best surgical papers of the year. Dr. Richard Satava (Professor at the University of Washington, School of Medicine, Department of Surgery) spoke of the "Surgical Futurist," describing technologies in development that blur the line between surgery, genetics and engineering. Two panel sessions focused on "Growth and Use of Social Media in Medicine" and the emerging role of the "Surgical Hospitalist."

The day concluded with a challenging game of "Surgical Jeopardy" moderated by Drs. Darlene Barr (Swedish) and Ravi Moonka (VMMC), that pitted residents from the University, Swedish Healthcare System and Virginia Mason Medical Center in a much-anticipated rematch after VM's dramatic Final Jeopardy win at the WA-OR ACS Chapter meeting in Chelan this past summer.

The University of Washington was well represented at the meeting, both in membership, on the program, and by residents. University of Washington resident Dr. Sabrina Sanchez won the competition for best resident research paper; Dr. Jonathan Kohler won "audience favorite" (using the audience response system) for his case presentation of hernia repair of biblical proportions. The UW Surgical Jeopardy team won 1st place. Team members included: Sabrina Sanchez (R3), Heather Wheeler (R5), Jonathan Sham (R2), Jennifer Kasten (R2), Colleen O'Kelly Priddy (R3).

And, finally, Dr. Carlos Pellegrini (UW Medicine Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery), was unanimously elected by the membership as President for the 2012 year.

Congratulations to the UW faculty and residents for their outstanding participation at the Seattle Surgical Society.





UWMC Surgical Trainees present at the Seattle Surgical Society Meeting 2012. From left to right: Jonathan Kohler (R4), Sabrina Sanchez (R3), Jonathan Sham (R2), Edward Auyang (MLS Fellow).



The Winning UW Surgical Jeopardy Team (from left to right): Jonathan Sham (R2), Jennifer Kasten (R2), Heather Wheeler (R5), Colleen O'Kelly Priddy (R3), Sabrina Sanchez (R3).