Awards/Honors/Publications



Dr. Leah Backhus has been awarded a K Award training grant through the Institute of Translational Health Sciences (ITHS). The ITHS KL2 Multidisciplinary Clinical Research Career Development Program is funded through the NIH/NCCR as a part of the CTSA initiative. The grant provides 4-5 years of research and training support which she will use to investigate survivorship following definitive treatment in lung cancer.



Drs. Joseph Cuschieri and Ron Maier will be publishing "Benchmarking Outcomes in the Critically Injured Trauma Patient and the Effect of Implementing Standard Operating Procedures" in the May issue of Annals of Surgery. The study's objective was to determine and compare outcomes with accepted benchmarks in trauma care at seven academic level I trauma centers in which patients were treated on the basis of a series of standard operating procedures (SOPs). It is the latest publication from the investigators involved in The Inflammation and the Host Response to Injury, a National Institute of General Medical Sciences large-scale collaborative project ("Glue Grant").



The American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS) recognized

Dr. Andre Dick as a Top Poster of Distinction Awardee at the 12th Annual State of the Art Winter Symposium "Surgical Challenges, Creative Solutions." The title of the abstract he submitted and presented is "Living Donor Kidney Transplantation: Does Size Matter?"



At the 2012 Congress of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), **Dr. Heather Evans**, Assistant Professor of Surgery in the division of Trauma, Critical Care and Burns at HMC, was awarded a Presidential Citation for her contributions as Chair of SCCM's Graduate Resident Education Committee. She has been appointed to be the Chair of Strategic Planning for the Surgery Section of SCCM for 2012-13.



Dr. Hugh Foy received the 2012 UW Distinguished Teaching Award. Each year, the University of Washington honors several members of the faculty as Distinguished Teachers. Awardees are chosen based on a variety of criteria, including: extensive knowledge and mastery

of the subject matter, innovation in course and curriculum design; ability to inspire, guide and mentor students through independent and creative thinking; ability to engage students in a variety of classroom settings; and service as a mentor, collaborator and consultant to other faculty and teaching assistants by helping to enrich the scholarship of teaching and learning. The Distinguished Teaching Award may be awarded to a faculty member only once in his/her lifetime.

Dr. Foy has received numerous teaching awards over the years. This is a significant honor from the University and accurately reflects the esteem in which Dr. Foy is held by faculty, medical students and residents. The Department salutes Dr. Foy on this extraordinary award.



Dr. Jennifer Kasten, (PGY-2), has been named a Scientist Scholar by the American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS). Her project, "Transplantation of Embryonic Stem Cell-Derived Hepatocytes to Treat Single Enzyme Liver Defects" will attempt to develop a gene therapy vector to palliate congenital metabolic defects which currently require orthotopic liver transplantation.

Each year ASTS selects two residents from across the country to be Genentech Scientist Scholars. The award supports full research funding for two years in the field of transplantation and transplant immunobiology. Previous awardees have included **Drs. David Mathes, Tom Varghese** and Yvonne Carter. The Department congratulates Dr. Kasten on receiving this prestigious award.



Dr. Kimberly Riehle was awarded the Louis Argenta, MD, FACS Faculty Research Fellowship by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) for her research project entitled "Improving Regeneration in the Fibrotic Liver." This fellowship is supported by Kinetic Concepts, Inc. and is targeted to help the award recipient establish an independent research program on wound care.