Honors, Awards & Publications

Congratulations to Dr. Alec Clowes,

Faculty



Clowes



Professor, Vascular Surgery Division, Department of Surgery and his team, for their successful NIH competing grant renewal for a 4 year continuation of the research project: "Mechanisms of Arterial Graft Healing." NIH funding, along with other funding, has continuously funded Dr. Clowes laboratory since 1981 - a span of 27 years. The Award is for approximately \$400,000 in direct costs for each year and funding begins on August 1, 2012

Sobel

Vein grafts are frequently used to bypass extensive infrainguinal arterial occlusive disease, the underlying cause of claudication and limb loss. These grafts, like other forms of vascular reconstruction, exhibit a variable healing response to the trauma of surgery. Despite decades of research, almost nothing is known about the factors that account for the variability in healing. In addition, all of the original vascular graft studies were conducted using either cell culture or non-human primate models of graft healing. There is now a major shift in focus. The team is studying healing in human grafts and investigating the possibility that there is a genetic basis for graft failure. The preliminary studies are very informative and very exciting. Dr. Clowes says, "we have identified a variation in the regulatory region of the p27^{Kip1} gene that is strongly associated with the patency of the grafts in two groups of patients from Seattle and Boston. This result, coupled with previously published results showing a strong association between this SNP (at position -838 in the p27 gene) and the outcome of coronary stent angioplasty in two groups of Dutch patients, indicate to us that this genetic variation might be of broad use as a biomarker for predicting outcomes of vascular reconstruction."

Eventually they hope to determine whether p27 is a good pharmacological target for improving the performance of bypass grafting and other forms of vascular reconstruction.

The remaining three years (through July 31, 2016) will be funded as non-compete renewals, dependent upon continued availability of funds from NIH. Dr. Clowes is PI and Project Director. He is joined by a great team, with

Dr. Michael Sobel, Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery, practicing at the Veterans' Affairs Puget Sound Health Care System (VA) as co-PI.



Thomas S. Hatsukami, MD, Professor, was awarded the Multicenter Clinical Studies Planning Grant from the Society for Vascular Surgery (SVS) Foundation for his proposal titled "MRI of High-Risk Carotid Plaque."

Hatsukami

The SVS Foundation Multicenter Clinical Studies Planning Grant is one component of a broad strategy to facilitate clinical research directed at solving high-impact questions in the care of patients with vascular diseases. SVS recognizes that members face significant gaps in knowledge in their day to day care of patients with vascular disease and acknowledges the challenge of designing and executing clinical studies of a scope necessary to provide concrete clinical guidance. Prospective multicenter studies are particularly challenging; yet these studies may be the only practical approach to recruit patient numbers and concomitantly achieve statistical power within a relevant time frame. A major hurdle for investigators planning such studies are the costs of developing compelling preliminary data, recruiting and training collaborators, and creating supporting tools necessary to write a competitive application.



David W. Mathes, MD, Associate Professor has been selected for the 2012 Provost Bridge Funding Award.



James O. Park, MD, Associate Professor, received Royalty Research Fund Award for his proposal titled "Nanoparticle-Based Gene-Silencing Therapy of Hepatocellular Carcinoma."

Park

Faculty (cont.)



Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, The Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chairman received the Andrew L. Warshaw Master Educator Award from the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract Foundation (SSAT) for exemplifying excellence as a mentor, teacher, and educator.

Pellegrini



Jorge D. Reyes, MD, Professor & Chief of Transplant Surgery, UWMC; Pediatric Transplant Program Director, Seattle Children's Hospital was appointed as the inaugural holder of the Roger K. Giesecke Distinguished Professorship in Transplant Surgery.

Ittyto

The Roger K. Giesecke Distinguished Professorship in Transplant Surgery was established in 2011 by Mary Pigott to enhance the University's ability to recruit and retain distinguished faculty in the Division of Transplant Surgery and to honor Roger K. Giesecke, Ms. Piggott's late husband.



Nicholas B. Vedder, MD, Professor & Chief of Plastic Surgery, was appointed be the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Regents to be an active member of the Committee on Trauma (COT) for a three year term.

Vedder

Residents



Jeff Chang, MD, abstract "Long-Term Tolerance After Transplantation of Mismatched Vascularized Composite Allografts Without the Use of Chronic Immunosuppression" was accepted for presentation in the American College of Surgeons (ACS) 2012 Surgical Forum program. The abstract has been selected for an Excellence in Research Award for the category of Plastic/ Maxillofacial Surgery.

Aaron Jensen, MD, received the Association for Surgery Education's (ASE) Linnea Hauge, PhD Promising Educational Scholar Award. He was nominated for this award in recognition for demonstrating promise as a future leader and scholar in surgical education.





Victoria Lao, MD, was awarded a Cancer and Smoking Disease Research grant for a proposal titled "TIMP3 Methylation In Colorectal Cancer Pathogenesis" from Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. The goal of this study is to understand of the role of TIMP3 methylation in the pathogenesis of CRC and to investigate its potential as a biomarker for responsiveness to EGF receptor inhibitor therapy and/or early detection of metastasis.

Dr. Lao was also awarded a National Institutes of Health (NIH) grant for a proposal titled "Novel Molecular Signatures of Colorectal Cancer." The goal of this study is to identify markers for responsiveness to chemotherapy in colorectal cancers by determining novel molecular signatures of colorectal cancer with specific focus on epigenetic changes.



Sabrina Sanchez, MD, was awarded an Outstanding Presentation Award from the Seattle Children's Hospital Fellow and Resident Research Day. She presented recent data on IV lipid restriction to prevent PN-associated cholestasis.

Sanchez



Callie Thompson, MD, was awarded the Henry Harkins Award/3rd prize in the Best Basic Science Paper competition at the Washington State chapter of American College of Surgeons (ACS) meeting for her presentation "Toll-like receptor 1 polymorphisms and associations with outcomes in sepsis after traumatic injury."

Department of Surgery Resident News...

UW Department of Surgery residents win first place in American College of Surgeons' Resident Jeopardy. UW Surgery team included Drs. Roni Prucz, Colleen Priddy, Jarod McAteer, Jonathan Sham and Callie Thompson.