Honors, Awards and Publications



Ben Anderson, MD, received the National Consortium of Breast Centers' Inspiration Award during the 2013 National Interdisciplinary Breast Conference. This award is given annually to the individual who embodies the spirit of selfless leadership and provides the inspiration for all other providers of breast health care.



Patch Dellinger, MD, received the UWMC Service Award for his 35 years of service.



Andre Dick, MD, was appointed to The American Society of Transplant Surgeons' (ASTS) Fellowship Training Committee through 2016. The American Society of Transplant Surgeons is dedicated to fostering and advancing the practice and science of transplantation for the benefit of patients and society.



Jason Ko, MD, was awarded funding from the Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation (MTF) for his proposal entitled "Vascularized Composite Allotransplantation (VCA) of the Elbow: A Study of Vascular Perfusion and Technical Feasibility."



James Perkins, MD, was appointed as a representative to the Association of American Medical Colleges Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS).

The purpose of the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS) is to serve as a forum reflecting the diversity of medical school faculties represented by the Association of American Medical Colleges. Its members are drawn directly from the faculty rosters of each individual school as well as the academic professional societies that are populated with faculty from many schools. As such, the CFAS will identify critical issues facing faculty

members of medical schools, provide a voice for faculty about those issues to the AAMC as they relate to creation and implementation of the AAMC's programs, services, and policies, and serve as a communications conduit with faculty regarding matters related to the core missions of academic medicine.



Edward Verrier, MD, has been selected as the American Heart Association's (AHA) "Golden Heart Honoree." Each year, the AHA selects an individual that epitomizes the goals of the AHA and this year Dr. Verrier has stood out among his peers for all of his work in the community. These goals include: advancement of scientific knowledge, either basic or clinical research, which relates directly to clinical cardiology; teaching of cardiology at undergraduate, graduate or postgraduate levels; improvement in the practice of cardiology; and service to the mission of the AHA.



John Waldhausen, MD, was elected to the pediatric surgery board of the American Board of Surgery (ABS) as the American Pediatric Surgical Association's (APSA) representative. He will begin his term of office in June 2013 through 2019.



Douglas Wood, MD, was elected by the Society of Thoracic Surgeons' (STS) membership to serve as the Society's 2013-2014 President.

Residents



Callie M. Thompson, MD, has been awarded a grant from the Washington State Council of Fire Fighters (WSCFF) Burn Foundation for her proposal entitled "The Potential Early Biomarkers for Prediction of the Development of Hypertrophic Scars."