New Research Residents

Continued from page 12



Cordelie Witt, MD

Dr. Witt is a fellow in the NICHD-funded T32 Pediatric Injury Research Training Program under faculty mentor Dr. Frederick Rivara, Professor in the Department of Pediatrics. She will work within the Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center, with a focus on traumatic injuries in children. Her research will focus on how intrinsic patient factors influence injury patterns and outcomes, and how to improve patient outcomes though large-scale clinical interventions. In addition, Dr. Witt will be completing her Master of Public Health in Epidemiology through the University Of Washington School of Public Health. She hopes to ultimately use this training to pursue an academic surgical career aimed at improving patient care via population-based analyses and interventions.

2015 Chief Residents' Dinner

The 2015 Department of Surgery Chief Residents' Dinner was held at the Bell Harbor International Conference Center on Friday, June 19th and was emceed by Dr. Dana Lynge, Associate Professor of General Surgery and Deputy Chief of Surgery, VA Puget Sound Health Care System.

One of the traditions of this annual dinner is presenting awards in the following categories:

Harkins Society Introduction

Introduction by Dr. Giana Davidson, President, Henry Harkin's Surgical Society/Assistant Professor, Division of General Surgery

Henry Harkins Award

Awardee–Dr. Dara Horn, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. Roger Tatum, Surgeon-in-Chief, Associate Professor, General Surgery, VA Puget Sound Health Care System

UW Department of Surgery Student Research Award Awardee–Dr. Ariel Knight, UW School of Medicine graduate Presented by Dr. Roger Tatum, Surgeon-in-Chief, Associate Professor, General Surgery, VA Puget Sound Health Care System

Stevenson's Faculty Teaching Award Awardee–Dr. Saurabh Khandelwal, Assistant Professor, Division of General Surgery Presented by Dr. Jarod McAteer, Surgery Resident

Nurse of the Year Award Awardee–Valerie Forbes, RN Presented by Dr. Analisa Armstrong, Surgery Resident Resident Recognition Award for Medical Student Teaching Awardee–Dr. Swaroop Bommareddi, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. Karen Horvath, Professor, Division of General Surgery, Director of the Residency Training Program and Associate Chair for Education

The David Tapper Resident Teaching & Leadership Award Awardee–Dr. Amelia Simpson, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. Karen Horvath, Professor, Division of General Surgery, Director of the Residency Training Program and Associate Chair for Education

Fellows Finishing June 2015

Shahram Aarabi, MD, MPH/Trauma & Surgical Critical Care Darren Bowe, MD/Trauma & Surgical Critical Care Deepika Nehra, MD/Trauma & Surgical Critical Care Samantha Quade, MD/Trauma & Surgical Critical Care Imran Javed, MD/Transplant Surgery Damien Carter, MD/Burn Surgery Lyndsay Deeter, MD/Burn Surgery Christina Tragos, MD/Craniofacial Surgery Sophia Hom, MD /Congenital Cardiac Surgery Marie-Pascale Tremlay-Champagne, MD/Microsurgery Edward Chan, MD/Cardiothoracic Surgery Fawwaz Shaw, MD/Cardiothroacic Surgery Rebecca Stark, MD/Pediatric Surgery Joshua Mourot, MD/Center for Videoendoscopic Surgery Allison Porter, MD/Center for Videoendoscopic Surgery Robert Yates, MD/Center for Videoendoscopic Surgery Derek Nathan, MD/Vascular Surgery Ronson Madathil, MD/Cardiothoracic Surgical Critical Care

(continued on page 14)

2015 Chief Residents' Dinner

Continued from page 13

Chief Residents Finishing June 2015

Vascular Surgery Program

Brandon (Ty) Garland, MD Private Practice Denver, CO



Left to right: Drs. Carlos Pellegrini, Ty Garland, Benjamin Starnes, Derek Nathan, and Niten Singh

Plastic Surgery Program

Sam Lien, MD Private Practice Denver, CO

Suzette Miranda, MD Aesthetic Surgery Fellowship Atlanta, GA

Janelle Sousa, MD Microsurgical Fellowship The Royal Melbourne Hospital



Left to right: Drs. Suzette Miranda, Sam Lien and Janelle Sousa

General Surgery Program

Greta Bernier, MD Colorectal Surgery Fellowship University of South Florida, Tampa

F. Thurston Drake, MD, MPH Endocrine Surgery Fellowship University of California, San Francisco

Colleen O'Kelly Priddy, MD Breast Surgical Oncology Fellowship University of Southern California, Los Angeles

> Sabrina Sanchez, MD, MPH Critical Care Fellowship University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

> Amelia Simpson, MD Trauma/Critical Care Fellowship University of California, San Diego

Callie Thompson, MD Burn/Trauma/Critical Care Fellowship Harborview Medical Center, Seattle

Nicole Zern, MD Endocrine Surgery Fellowship Royal North Shore Hospital, Australia



Back row (left to right): Drs. F. Thurston Drake, Greta Bernier, Callie Thompson, Colleen O'Kelly Priddy, Nicole Zern and Amelia Simpson

Front row (left to right): Drs. Karen Horvath, Carlos Pellegrini and Sabrina Sanchez

The Department of Surgery wishes the very best to the departing residents and welcomes the new, incoming residents for 2015–16.