Honors and Awards

Faculty



Dr. Nicole Gibran, Professor and Director of the UW Medicine Regional Burn Center, has been selected to represent the American Burn Association on the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Governors as a 2013 Specialty Society Governor through 2016.



Ken Haverland, PA-C, received UWMC's Fall 2013 <u>UW Medicine</u> <u>Cares Award</u>. UW Medicine established the UW Medicine Cares Award in 2013, a program to formally recognize and celebrate the accomplishments and excellence of those in the UW Medicine community who consistently

exemplify the UW Medicine Service Culture Guidelines. Ken's nomination reads: "I have so many stories about Ken helping our staff and patients receiving the best possible care. Ken is always careful to speak about patients and their needs only in confidential environments. He answers e-mail promptly whenever a question is asked. Just last week he came out of the operating room to help upload imaging into life image for an urgent patient consult happening the next day. The patient was coming from Korea and he wanted to make sure all his records were ready for physician review. He also ended up staying late after the task was done to call the referring provider and let them know the information was received and to get more information. Patients really are first for Ken. And he goes out of his way every day to show it."



Dr. Peter Neligan, Professor and Director of the Center for Reconstructive Surgery at UW Medical Center, received the 2013 British Medical Association's (BMA) Medical Book Award under the Surgical Specialties category for his book entitled Plastic Surgery:

6-Volume Set: Expert Consult Premium Edition — Enhanced Online Features and Print 3rd edition. Published by Elsevier, 2012 (ISBN 9781437717334 £968).



Dr. Carlos Pellegrini, FACS, FRCSI (Hon.)
The Henry N. Harkins Professor & Chair, was recently awarded the "ISS/SIC Prize 2013." The Executive Committee of the International Society of Surgery/Societe
Internationale de Chirurgie (ISS/

SIC) unanimously voted to present

this award to him according to the criteria established at their conference in Toronto in 1989. The prize will be "given to the surgeons who have published work which has made most notable and useful contributions to surgical science."

Residents



Dr. Meera Kotagal received the 2013
Association of Women Surgeons
(AWS) Hilary Sanfey Outstanding
Resident Award. This award was
established in 1999 and is presented
annually to a surgery resident who
has demonstrated excellence and
leadership in the field. Dr. Kotagal
will receive the award in recognition

of the outstanding leadership she has demonstrated in both her professional and in her personal life. The AWS award committee was impressed with her academic accomplishments and her sense of duty to the community. The award was presented to Dr. Kotagal on Monday, October 7th at the AWS Awards Dinner during the American College of Surgeons Annual Clinical Congress in Washington DC.