2016 Chief Residents' Dinner

The 2016 Department of Surgery Chief Residents' Dinner was held at the Bell Harbor International Conference Center on Friday, June 17th. Welcome and introductions were presented by Dr. Doug Wood, Professor and Interim Chair and the event was emceed by Dr. Dana Lynge, Associate Professor of General Surgery and Deputy Chief of Surgery, VA Puget Sound Health Care System.

One of the traditions of this annual dinner is presenting awards in the following categories:

Harkins Society Introduction

Introduction by Dr. Giana Davidson, President, Henry Harkin's Surgical Society/Assistant Professor, Division of General Surgery

Henry Harkins Award

Awardee—Dr. **Jamie Oh**, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. **Roger Tatum**, Surgeon-in-Chief, Professor, General Surgery, VA Puget Sound Health Care System

UW Department of Surgery Student Research Award

Awardee—Dr. **Jonathon Sargent**, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. **Roger Tatum**, Surgeon-in-Chief, Professor, General Surgery, VA Puget Sound Health Care System

Stevenson's Faculty Teaching Award

Awardee—Dr. Lorrie Langdale, Professor, VA Puget Sound Health Care System Presented by Dr. Val Simianu, Surgery Resident

Resident Recognition Award for Medical Student Teaching

Awardee—Dr. Rahul Kasukurthi, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. Doug Wood, Professor and Interim Chair

The David Tapper Resident Teaching & Leadership Award

Awardee–Dr. Meera Kotagal, Surgery Resident Presented by Dr. Doug Wood, Professor and Interim Chair

Fellows Finishing June 2016

Shani Belgrave-Heath, MD/Center for Videoendoscopic Surgery
Mark Wendling, MD/Center for Videoendoscopic Surgery
Fawwaz Shaw, MD/Congenital Cardiac Surgery
Jevon Brown, MD/Craniofacial Surgery
Sol Mundinger, MD/Craniofacial Surgery
Samuel E. Rice-Townsend, MD/Pediatric Surgery
Theodore Kung, MD/Reconstructive Microsurgery
Brian George, MD/Surgical Critical Care
Joshua Judge, MD/Surgical Critical Care
Marta McCrum, MD, MPH/Surgical Critical Care
Kathleen O'Connell, MD/Surgical Critical Care
Elisha Brownson, MD/Surgical Critical Care
Callie Thompson, MD/Surgical Critical Care
Dustin Walters, MD/Thoracic Surgery-Traditional
Terra Pearson, MD/Transplant Surgery

Chief Residents Finishing June 2016

Thoracic Surgery (I) Program

Kathleen Berfield, MD

Faculty Appointment
University of Washington and VA Puget Sound

Vascular Surgery Program

Daiva Nevidomskyte, MD

Acadmic Practice
Duke University

General Surgery Program

Analisa Armstrong, MD

Advanced Laparoscopy Fellowship Tacoma, WA

Timo Hakkarainen, MD

Endocrine and Metabolic Surgery Fellowship Icahn School of Medicine

Meera Kotagal, MD, MPH

Pediatric Surgery Fellowship Cincinnati Children's Hospital

Jarod McAteer, MD, MPH

Pediatric Surgery Fellowship Children's National Medical Center

Lara Oyetunji, MD

Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship University of Washington

Rebecca Plevin, MD

Trauma Surgery/Critical Care Fellowship University of California, San Francisco

Plastic Surgery Program

Jonathan Chong, MD

Microsurgery Fellowship Edinburgh, Scotland

Rahul Kasukurthi, MD

Hand Fellowship University of Washington

Angelo Lipira, MD

Hand Fellowship University of Washington

Roni Prucz, MD

Private Practice Scottsdale, AZ

(continued on page 6)

2016 Chief Residents' Dinner

Continued from page 5

General Surgery Residency Program



Left to right: Drs. Karen Horvath, Lara Oyetunji, Daiva Nevidomskyte, Elina Quiroga, Jarod McAteer, Jeffrey Friedrich, Analisa Armstrong, Rebecca Plevin, Meera Kotagal, Doug Wood, Kathleen Berfield, Carlos Pellegrini and Timo Hakkarainen.

Vascular Surgery Residency Program



Left to right: Drs. Benjamin Starnes, Daiva Nevidomskyte, Tom Hatsukami and Niten Singh

Plastic Surgery Residency Program



Left to right: Drs. Doug Wood, Nicholas Vedder, Roni Prucz, Angelo Lipira, Jonathan Chong, Rahul Kasukurthi, Kari Keys, and Jeffrey Friedrich