## Honors, Awards & Publications

### **Faculty**



Dr. Sara Javid, Associate Professor, Division of General Surgery, was named new associate editor for the Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (JNCCN).

Dr. Javid is a breast surgeon and health services researcher whose research areas of interest include shared decision-making for early-stage breast cancer, the treatment of ductal carcinoma

in situ, and disparities in surgical care among underrepresented populations. She has had an active role in the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN), of which Seattle Cancer Care Alliance has been a member for nine years. In 2010, she was appointed as Principal Investigator of SCCA's NCCN Breast Outcomes Database and remained in that position until the closure of the database in 2015. In addition, Dr. Javid contributes annually to the NCCN Breast Cancer Treatment Guidelines, a panel vice-chaired by Dr. Benjamin Anderson, Professor, Division of General Surgery. Dr. Javid has also served as a reviewer for the JNCCN and is looking forward to this new position as an associate editor for JNCCN.



Dr. Carlos Pellegrini, Professor and Chief Medical Office, was honored with the title of Doctor Honoris Causa by the Senate of the University of Athens. This honor recognizes Dr. Pellegrini for his significance and impact of his work in the scientist community. This is the highest honorary title awarded by the University of Athens recognizing outstanding performance in surgery.

Dr. Elina Quiroga, Associate Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery, completed her Master of Public Health (MPH) this past summer at the University of Washington's Department of Global Health. As part of this interdisciplinary training on global health issues, she performed her practicum evaluating the efficacy of simulation-based training in vascular surgery for general surgery residents in low- and middle-income countries. Her thesis assessed the current capabilities for evaluation and treatment of cardiovascular disease in Argentina, following the consensus recommendations for essential vascular care, using geographic population assessment. Dr. Quiroga would like to express her gratitude to the Department of Surgery, and especially the Division of Vascular Surgery, for their support to complete this MPH. She also would like to especially recognize her appreciation to Dr. Alberto Ferreres, Professor & Chair of Surgery, Department of Surgery, University of Buenos



Professor Deepa Rao, GH, MPH, Associate Program Director, Dr. Elina Quiroga, Associate Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery, and Professor Stephen Gloyd, GH, MPH, Program Director

Aires, Argentina, and the team at the Bocalandro Hospital, as well the surgeons at the Argentinean College of Cardiovascular Surgery, for all their tireless work towards improving surgical care of vascular patients in Argentina.



Dr. Benjamin Starnes, The Alexander W. Clowes Endowed Chair, Professor and Chief of Division of Vascular Surgery, was elected to serve as the Western Vascular Society President Elect for the 2018/2019 academic year and will hold the position of President for the 2019/2020 year. The election was held on September 24th, 2018, at the 33rd annual society meeting at the Eldorado Hotel in Santa Fe, NM. Dr. Starnes



(continued on page 29)

## Honors, Awards & Publications

Continued from page 28

first became a member of the Western Vascular Society in 2005. He has since held numerous positions within the society including Program Committee Chair and Recorder. Dr. Starnes expresses, "I am extremely humbled and honored to have been installed as President Elect for the Western Vascular Society. This prestigious society spans 14 Western American States and the Canadian provinces of British Columbia and Alberta. Its members meet each year to share new techniques and discoveries to further advance the care of our patients."

# Dr. Katherine Flynn-O'Brien

Dr. Katherine Flynn-O'Brien, 2018 graduate of the General Surgery Residency Program, was nominated for this award which is a great honor as well. Congratulations to awardees and nominees!

#### **Residents and Fellows**



Dr. Kathryn Stadeli, 2017–19 research resident, published "The autonomy crisis: A call to action for resident advocacy," Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons, published August 1, 2018.



Dr. Rebecca Grace Lopez, 2017–2018 fellow in the Center for Videoendoscopic Surgery, placed first in the "Best Resident and Fellows Presentations Competition" category for her presentation "Recurrent Dysphagia After Myotomy: Diagnosis, Workup, and Technique" at the 2018 SAGES meeting held in Seattle, Washington in April 2018. Her video tackled the challenge of symptom recurrence after myotomy and reviewed key points in workup and surgical techniques to perform when addressing it.

Dr. Barclay Stewart, 2018 graduate of the General Surgery Residency Program and current Surgical Critical Care fellow at Harborview, received the 2018 Harborview Medical Center Annual Housestaff Award. Dr. Stewart was a co-recipient of this award with Dr. Aysha Appa, Department of Medicine, for "Clinical Ability and Humanitarian Concern." This prestigious award is received by individuals who have gone on to achieve great success in their respective fields.



Dr. Stewart expresses, "I'm sure all of us nominated agree, it is an honor to have studied and worked at Harborview. We have had the privilege of serving an incredibly diverse population, learning from lifetimes of expertise in many fields and disciplines, and growing as young clinicians, leaders, scientists, and educators along the way.

I'm fortunate to stay at Harborview as a Burn, Trauma, & Critical Care Fellow; I look forward to becoming more involved with Harborview's efforts to reduce barriers to care, transform our practice, strengthen outreach initiatives, and improve the quality and safety of the care we provide for our patients."