Surgery News

DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY 2020 Resident Graduation Dinner

The 2020 Department of Surgery Chief Residents' Dinner was held virtually in Seattle, WA, June 2020. Welcome and introductions were presented by Drs. Douglas Wood, The Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chair, and Karen Horvath, Professor and Director, Residency Program in General Surgery. A special thanks was also given to the Department of Surgery's Education staff: Kira Martin, Gina Coluccio, Anne Long, Karyn Crowe, Joanna Ames, Suzanne Mills, Kristelle Calma, Laura Yale, Caroline Sabella, Katie Nowlin and Kaitlin Ree.

CHIEF RESIDENTS FINISHING JUNE 2020

DIVISION OF CARDIOTHORACIC SURGERY INTEGRATED RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Dr. Swaroop Bommareddi MCS/Transplant Fellowship University of Wisconsin

DIVISION OF VASCULAR SURGERY INTEGRATED RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Dr. Anna Ohlsson

Clinical Assistant Professor Division of Vascular Surgery University of Pennsylvania

DIVISION OF PLASTIC SURGERY INTEGRATED RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Dr. Kate Impastato Plastic Surgery Marshall University

Dr. Tommy Liu Craniofacial Fellowship University of California, Los Angeles

Dr. Shane Morrison Gender-Affirming Surgery Fellowship University of Michigan

Dr. Trent Morton Plastic Surgery Proliance Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons

DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY GENERAL SURGERY RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Dr. Brian J. Cook Abdominal Transplant Fellowship University of Washington

Dr. Sarah M. Kolnik Surgical Critical Care Trauma Fellowship University of Kentucky

Dr. Vimukta M. Mahadev Surgical Critical Care Trauma Fellowship University of Washington

Dr. Amer H. Nassar Harvard University/BIDMC Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship

Dr. Francys C. Verdial Argueta Breast Surgical Oncology Fellowship Memorial Sloane Kettering Cancer Center

Dr. Jay Zhu Minimally Invasive Surgery Fellowship University of Washington

PRELIMINARY RESIDENTS FINISHING JUNE 2020

Dr. Alex Charboneau Dr. Waraporn Denjalearn Dr. Robert Dionisio Dr. Abhi Jain Dr. Daniel Kaufman Dr. Christopher Lewis Dr. Jason Lizalek Dr. Jacob LoMonaco Dr. Ryan Musolf Dr. Peter Park Dr. Amar Shah Dr. Charles Tandler Dr. Justin Terracciano Dr. Philip Tong Dr. Theresa Wang Dr. Michael Wong Dr. Jefferson Yu

SURGERY FELLOWS FINISHING JUNE 2020

Dr. Jeff Anderson *Surgical Critical Care*

Dr. Navin Bhatia Surgical Critical Care

Dr. Chelsea Boe Hand Surgery

Dr. Mert Calis *Craniofacial Surgery*

Dr. Peter Joseph Edpao Transplant Surgery

Dr. Colette Inaba Minimally Invasive Surgery

> **Dr. Abbie Jensen** Surgical Critical Care

Dr. Nicole Kurnik Craniofacial Surgery

Dr. Stephanie Mason Surgical Critical Care

Dr. David Miranda Surgical Critical Care

Dr. Ugochi Okoroafor-Ridgway Hand Surgery

> Dr. Rachel Payne Surgical Critical Care

> **Dr. Lela Posey** Surgical Critical Care

Dr. Brian Pridgen Hand Surgery

Dr. Marko Rojnica Pediatric Surgery

Dr. Joel Sternbach Cardiothoracic Surgery

Dr. Rebecca Ur Vascular Surgery

Dr. Kent Yamaguchi Hand Surgery

Surgery News

2020 GRADUATING CHIEF RESIDENT AWARDS

HARKINS SOCIETY & HENRY HARKINS AWARD

Presented to a University of Washington School of Medicine medical student who has completed outstanding clinical work and demonstrated a strong interest in pursuing training in a surgical discipline.

Presented by Dr. Kristine Calhoun, Associate Professor, Division of General Surgery

Awardee—Dr. Annie Yang, Graduate, University of Washington, School of Medicine, Class of 2020

DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY STUDENT RESEARCH AWARD

Presented to a student who has performed outstanding research within the Department of Surgery.

Presented by Dr. Kristine Calhoun, Associate Professor, Division of General Surgery

Awardee—Dr. Arvind Bakthavatsalam, Prelimary (R1)

RESIDENT ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARD

Presented to General Surgery residents who scored in the 85th percentile or greater from across the nation on the ABSITE exam in 2020.

Presented by Dr. Karen Horvath, Professor and Director, Residency Program in General Surgery

Awardees—Drs. Oluwatobi Afolayan (Chief), Catherine Beni (Research), Kyle Bilodeau (R3), Nina Clark (R2), Matias Czerwonko Pupi (R3), Sara Daniel (R4), Lindsey Dickerson (R2), David Droullard (Research), Dara Horn (R4), Daniel Kaufman (R3), Jason Lizalek (R2), Jamie Oh (Research), Joshua Rosen (Research), Kevin Sullivan (Chief), and Michael Weykamp (R3)

(continued on page 6)



2020 GRADUATING CHIEF RESIDENT AWARDS (CONT.)

JUNIOR RESIDENT ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP AWARD

Presented to an R1 or R2 surgery resident who participates in the greatest number of Journal Clubs in an academic year.

Presented by Dr. Karen Horvath, Professor and Director, Residency Program in General Surgery

Awardees—Drs. Kate McNevin (R2), General Surgery and Lindsay Dickerson (R2), General Surgery

HARBORVIEW HOUSESTAFF AWARD NOMINEE

This nomination recognizes the resident or fellow for their "extraordinary clinical ability and humanitarian concern," as best shown through their exemplary care provided to Harborview Medical Center's patients.

Presented by Dr. Karen Horvath, Professor and Director, Residency Program in General Surgery

> Nominee—Dr. Amer Nasser, Chief, Division of General Surgery

STEVENSON FACULTY TEACHING AWARD

The Stevenson Faculty Teaching Award (est. 1989) in memory of former faculty member Dr. John K. Stevenson, salutes faculty teaching excellence and dedication to resident education.

Presented by Chief Residents: Drs. Swaroop Bommareddi, Anna Ohlsson, Kate Impastato, Tommy Liu, Shane Morrison, Trent Morton, Brian J. Cook, Sarah M. Kolnik, Vimukta M. Mahadev, Amer H. Nassar, Francys C. Verdial Argueta, and Jay Zhu

Awardee—Dr. James Oh Park, Professor, Division of General Surgery

THE DAVID TAPPER RESIDENT TEACHING & LEADERSHIP AWARD

The David Tapper Resident Teaching and Leadership Award is presented to a General Surgery Chief Resident who exemplifies the teaching and leadership qualities that others seek to emulate.

> Presented by Dr. Douglas Wood, The Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chair

Awardee—Dr. Brian J. Cook, Chief, Division of General Surgery

