UW Medicine | The Huddle | April 10, 2019

Three members of the UW Medicine Burn Center were honored at the American Burn Association‘s annual meeting in Las Vegas, April 2th-5th.

Dr. Nicole Gibran, Nancy Auth Washington Research Foundation Endowed Chair for Restorative Burn Surgery and Professor, Division of Trauma, Burn & Critical Care Surgery, (right in photo) received the President’s Leadership Award, which recognizes distinguished and exceptional service to the American Burn Association and to the profession of burn care.

Beth Costa received the Barbara Knothe Burn Therapist Achievement Award, which recognizes the important role of therapists in burn rehabilitation.

Dr. Barclay Stewart, Burn Surgical Critical Care Fellow, received the Peter Brigham Burn Epidemiology Best Award, which recognizes research studies that address a single burn or fire prevention problem, a specific population, multiple etiologies or epidemiology.

Dr. Stewart won the award with his co-author, Dr. Yasaman Kazerooni, for their paper “A Comprehensive Legislative Framework to Address Chemical Assault.”


Give to the UW Regional Burn Center Education and Research Endowment >>