Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Department of Surgery recognizes the professional achievements and humanitarian services of our resident alumni. Each year we honor an alumnus with the Annual Department Distinguished Alumnus Award which is presented during the Henry N. Harkins Society banquet in September.

In selecting the Distinguished Alumnus, nominations are solicited from all alumni, faculty, staff, residents and fellows. Professional or humanitarian contributions that have enhanced the surgical profession, improved the welfare of the general public, or brought distinction to the department are considered. These contributions may have been made either over a long period of time or may be a single outstanding achievement. Both academic and nonacademic achievements are eligible.

Any physician who has completed his or her residency or fellowship training at the UW Department of Surgery is eligible for nomination and consideration. All department faculty, staff, residents and alumni are solicited on an annual basis to submit nominations of those who deserve recognition.

For further information, please contact our Distinguished Alumnus Award Committee c/o UWHarkins@gmail.com or call 206-543-9668.

Past Distinguished Alumnus Awardees

2023Dr. Martin Schreiber1994
2022Dr. Nicholas Vedder1991
2021award not issued
2020award not issued
2019Dr. Valerie Rusch1980
2018Dr. Sharmila Dissanaike2007
2017Dr. Maureen Kim Lynch1989
2016Dr. Eileen Bulger1999
2015Dr. Thomas Hatsukami1987
2014award not issued
2013award not issued
2012Dr. Karen Guice
Dr. Keith Oldham
2011Dr. Michael Florence1980
2010Dr. Hugh M. Foy1983
2009Dr. David R. Byrd1987
2008Dr. Mika N. Sinanan1988
2007Dr. John H.T. Waldhausen1994
2006award not issued
2005Dr. Ronald V. Maier1978
2004Dr. J. Roland Folse1967
2003Dr. D. Eugene Strandness, Jr.1964
2002Dr. Robert W. Barnes1970
2001Dr. Roger Moe1964
2000Dr. Keith Kelly1965
1999Dr. Lloyd Nyhus1956
1998Dr. Robert Condon1965
1997Dr. Hilding Olson1951